Flashback, the history of UK black music

Output expected in 2020

Flashback (The history of UK black music) is not only a documentary about a musical phenomenon in the UK, but also an intimate dialogue about the lives, careers and struggles of most artists, writers and producers of the black music community.Their music echoes around the world and many people are unaware that these sounds came from Britain.
The project is co-produced with Leee John, singer of the 80s soul funk group Imagination. The documentary is informative, entertaining and inspiring. The viewer is taken on a musical, social and political journey.
From the beginning of the 20th century to the present day, Flashback tells the story of black music in the United Kingdom. Flashback presents artists and music from a variety of decades and genres.
5 years of work, more than 100 artists and industry professionals were interviewed! In addition to these exclusive interviews, we have undertaken extensive research to locate rare documents.
Some of the many people interviewed for this project: Eddy Grant, Billy Ocean, Kenny Lynch, Clem Curtis (The Foundations), Courtney Pine, Pauline Black (The Seleter), Brinsley Forde (Aswad), Ruby Turner, David Grant (Linx), Jazzie B (Soul 2 Soul), Junior Giscombe, Janet Kay, Jaki Graham, Beverley Knight, Neville Staple (The Specials), Norman Jay, Trevor Nelson, Danny John-Jules, Carl Douglas, Ali Campbell (UB40 ) among many others !
Flashback brings together memories from many eras, reveals the stories that happened on the other side of the mirror, musical and historical references, anecdotes, the difficulties to progress in society in the UK by artists, and the realities to be a black artist in the music industry.

Flashback, the history of UK black music

Sortie prévue en 2018

Flashback (The history of UK black music) est non seulement un documentaire sur un phénomène musical au Royaume-Uni, mais aussi un dialogue intime sur la vie, les carrières et les luttes de la plupart des artistes, écrivains et producteurs de la communauté musicale noire anglaise. Leur musique fait écho dans le monde entier et beaucoup de gens ignorent que ces sonorités sont venues de la Grande-Bretagne.
Le projet a été co-produit avec Leee John, chanteur du groupe Imagination des années 80. Le documentaire est informatif, divertissant et inspirant. Le spectateur est pris dans un voyage musical, social et politique.
Depuis le début du 20e siècle jusqu’à nos jours, Flashback raconte l’histoire de la musique noire au Royaume-Uni. Flashback présente des artistes et de la musique à partir d’une variété de décennies et de genres.
5 ans de travail, plus de 100 artistes et professionnels de l’industrie ont été interviewés ! À côté de ces interviews exclusives, nous avons entrepris une vaste recherche pour localiser des documents rares.
Quelques-unes des nombreuses personnes interrogées dans le cadre de ce projet : Eddy Grant, Billy Ocean, Kenny Lynch, Clem Curtis (Les Fondations), Courtney Pine, Pauline Black (Le Seleter), Brinsley Forde (Aswad), Ruby Turner, David Grant (Linx), Jazzie B (Soul 2 Soul), Junior Giscombe, Janet Kay, Jaki Graham, Beverley Knight, Neville Staple (The Specials), Norman Jay, Trevor Nelson, Danny John-Jules, Carl Douglas, Ali Campbell (UB40) parmi tant d’autres !
Flashback rassemble les souvenirs de plusieurs époques, révèle les histoires qui se passait de l’autre coté du miroir, les références musicales et historiques, les anecdotes, les difficultés à progresser rencontrées dans la société au Royaume-Uni par les artistes, et les réalités d’être un artiste noir dans l’industrie de la musique.